26 June 2022

District 10 Department of Texas

Still Serving America

2020 Oratorical Contest

Reference: 2020 National Official Rules attachment 1 and Department of Texas 2020 Guidelines attachment 2.

Post Level Competition:
The 2020 Oratorical Contest began at post level on October 26th and must be completed by December 20th. All contests should be conducted using National rules. Each school that is sponsored by their local American Legion Post is allowed to advance 1 contestant to the district level. Post level winners are to be certified by the Post Commander or Post Oratorical Chair using the “Oratorical Contestant Winner Registration Form” located at attachment 3 and then notify the District Oratorical Chair at attachment 4 and Department Director of Internal Affairs michaels@txlegion.org. Post awards cannot have any cash value.

District Level Competition: The district level contests shall be held on or after December 21, 2019, but no later than January 17, 2020, at such place as may be directed by the District Chair. The district winner must be certified to the Division Oratorical Chair at attachment 4 using attachment 3 no later than Monday, January 20th. It is up to each district to determine what type of award is presented to the district winner.

3rd Division Level Competition: The 3rd Division Contest shall be held on Sunday, January 26, 2020, at the Student Center at Blinn College, 902 College Ave, Brenham, TX 77833 starting at 2:00. Should the winner decline to participate in the Department Finals for any reason, the first runner-up should then be certified as the participant by the Division Chairman. The division winner will receive a $500 scholarship.  NoteIt is highly recommended that the District Commander attend the division level competition to support their district candidate.

The Department of Texas Finals: The Department Finals will be held on President’s Day Monday, February 17, 2020 (February 24 ALTERNATE) at 9:00 a.m. at the Frisco ISD Administration Building, 5515 Ohio St, Frisco, TX. Department Headquarters will certify the winner to the National Americanism Commission. The 4 Department participants will receive scholarship awards as outlined in the PDF files below. 

National Finals: The 2020 National Finals will be April 17 – 19 in Indianapolis. The scholarship for the National winner has been increased from $18,000 to $20,000.

Your support and participation in this outstanding program that teaches our youth appreciation of the U.S. Constitution are both welcomed and appreciated. 

Robert L. Masten
Commander, 3rd Division



For more information on the Oratorical program visit

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com